top of page
Less compressed.jpg


Courtyard Housing, Patel Taylor for Be First

anne mews_Maccreanor Lavington 1.JPG

The London Borough of Barking and Dagenham’s highly ambitious plans for urban regeneration – some 50,000 homes over the next 20 years – will transform the borough. To achieve these ambitions, all new development must be of the highest design quality. This also means building on the physical, social and cultural assets that define Barking and Dagenham.

Barking and Dagenham enjoys a rich and diverse architectural heritage: it has four conservation areas; 45 buildings and structures with statutory listed status for their special historic interest, with another 123 also recorded in a local list; and 20 Archaeological Priority Areas identified by Historic England. All new development must respond positively to the historic environment, reinforce a strong local identity and enhance a special sense of place.

Anne Mews, AHMM and Maccreanor Lavington © Rob Parrish

Policies within the emerging Local Plan see high quality design as central to sustainable development.

By setting up a Quality Review Panel, Barking and Dagenham has strengthened independent and expert advice to planning officers and the planning committee, supporting them in securing the highest quality of development.

The Barking and Dagenham Quality Review Panel is chaired by Neil Deely, Co-founder and Partner, Metropolitan Workshop.


The Granary © Pollard Thomas Edwards Architects


Thames View East for London Borough of Barking and Dagenham, Pollard Thomas Edwards 

Barking and Dagenham panel members

Neil Deely (chair)

Jennifer Ross (vice chair)

Nimi Attanayake

Tim Bell

Riccardo Bobisse

Mitch Cooke

Irene Craik

Nikolai Delvendahl

Jennette Emery-Wallis

Jeff Field 

Daisy Froud

Dr. Julie Futcher

Richard Harvey

Sabine Hogenhout

Shaun Ihejetoh

Dushyant Karnik

Jonathan Kendall

Lucas Lawrence

Jonas Lencer

Louise Mansfield

Robin Nicholson

John O'Mara 

Tricia Patel

Sanaa Shaikh

Neha Tayal 

Robert Townshend

Susanne Tutsch

David Ubaka

Tatiana Von Preussen

Rob Wells

Julia Xu 

Gus Zogolovitch


Terms of reference

Annual report


Short Blue Place © Patel Taylor

bottom of page