CVV_HOAC looking south_190701.jpg



Colne Valley Viaduct © HS2 Ltd 


HS2 Ltd is the client for the most intensive design effort that the UK construction industry has ever seen. Great design is critical to the success of the UK’s new national high speed rail network. The HS2 Independent Design Panel was set up in 2015 to help ensure the highest quality of design across all aspects of the HS2 operation – from stations, bridges and tunnels to protecting the environment and excelling in passenger experience. 


​The panel’s work is diverse: reviewing, advising and mentoring – depending on what best meets the needs of each project and team. There have already been successes – with improvements in the ambition, quality and consistency of projects that the panel has contributed to. 

​Design work has now started on civil engineering design and build contracts for Phase One – from London to Birmingham. Station design teams have begun developing detailed plans for the four Phase One Stations - Euston, Old Oak Common, Interchange, and Birmingham Curzon Street. 

The HS2 Independent Design Panel is chaired by Professor Sadie Morgan, Director, dRMM. 

Small Dean Viaduct © HS2 Ltd

HS2 Independent Design Panel members

Sadie Morgan (chair)

Tony Burton (vice chair)

Annie Coombs (deputy chair)

Martin Stockley (deputy chair)

Paul Appleby

Marie Bak Mortensen

Harbinder Birdi

David Bonnett

Adam Brown

Patricia Brown

Caroline Cole

Richard Cooke

Mark Delaney

Dan Epstein

Daisy Froud

Clive Grinyer

Kirsten Henson

Tom Holbrook

Gillian James

Hanif Kara

Paul Leinster

Clare Lilley

Mike Martin

Peter Maxwell

Jonathan McDowell

Campbell Middleton

Kathryn Moore

Kevin Owens           

Site visit © Edward Bailey

CVV over the grand union canal.jpg

Tina Paillet

Laurie Peake

Luke Pearson

Xanthe Quayle

Sam Richards

Jonathan Sands

Ann Sawyer

Les Sparks

Ben Terrett

Paul Watson

Simon Wright


HS2 Independent Design Panel Handbook

Colne Valley Viaduct © HS2 Ltd


Wendover Dean Viaduct © HS2 Ltd