top of page
200129 AHMM Royal Arsenal 4253.jpg


The Officers’ House, Royal Arsenal by AHMM © Timothy Soar

14_Greenwich University_Heneghan Peng Architects_HuftonCrow.jpeg

The Royal Borough of Greenwich (RBG) has a unique mix of heritage, natural environment, historic and contemporary places and architecture.


It comprises the longest continuous riverfront of all London boroughs, the world renowned Maritime Greenwich World Heritage site, a compelling green infrastructure of parks and woods and a vibrant set of town, district and local centres, including historic Greenwich, Woolwich, Eltham and Greenwich Peninsula. It is home to five of London’s Opportunity Areas, accommodating substantial new development, new communities and spaces.


The Council is committed to ensuring that high quality design and architecture is achieved for all developments in the royal borough, to assist in preserving and enhancing its unique places and ensuring good growth through inclusive and sustainable design, tailored to local needs.

Greenwich University, Heneghan Peng Architects © Hufton Crow

This objective is embedded in Core Strategy policy DH1 (Design), which states: “All developments are required to be of a high quality of design and to demonstrate that they positively contribute to the improvement of both the built and natural environments”. This is supported and strengthened by the Urban Design Guide Supplementary Planning Document (adopted in 2023), which provides further guidance on delivering high quality design and architecture in Royal Greenwich.


The Greenwich Design Review Panel is chaired by Jay Gort, Founding Director at Gort Scott.

06_Royal_Arsenal_The Officers House_AHHM.jpg

The Officers’ House, Royal Arsenal by AHMM © Timothy Soar

04_Meridian_Gate_Kidbrooke_Village_CZWG Architects.jpg

Meridian Gate, Kidbrooke Village © CZWG Architects

Greenwich panel members

Jay Gort (chair)

Ken Okonkwo (vice chair)


Damion Burrows

Oliver Davey

Liza Fior

Olivia Forty

Angeli Ganoo-Fletcher

Louise Goodison

Jonathan Hagos

Simon Henley

Cannon Ivers

Ailish Killilea

Matthew Llloyd

Mike Martin

Graciela Moreno

Anagha Mujmudar-Potbhare

Sherleen Pang

Tricia Patel

Tatiana von Preussen

Sohanna Srinivasan

Gwilym Still

David Storring

Glyn Tully

James Turner

Terms of reference

01_Rochester Way_Peter Barber.jpeg

Rochester Way © Peter Barber Architects

bottom of page